top of page

Browned Butter Peppery Steak


browned butter pepper crusted steak

I have gone through many diet changes in recent years. I’ve been vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, I’ve tried keto, paleo, atkins. I’ve come to a place where I believe in moderation. I have meatless days and animal-free days but I’ll be the first to admit I love a good steak. And I’ve been like this my whole life. One of my first phrases was “where’s the beef” and no that’s not a joke.


The thing is I believe in high-grade meats. I believe in paying a good amount for meat. Cheap meat makes me have all kinds of questions and honestly scares the shit out of me. I also don’t believe in having a steak a day or even a steak a week. (We’ll talk about other meats + meat in general at a later time by the way.)


The important thing about steaks

has to be grass-fed and preferably local meat.


The best way to cook a steak is by browning it in butter with a peppery crust. It’s simple, easy and absolutely delicious.


First of all, you want to take the steak out of the fridge 30 minutes before cooking because you want it to be room temp – don’t worry it’s totally safe.

Also fun fact if you bought a steak and forgot about it for a couple of days and then you take it out and it looks grey – don’t fret! That’s actually totally okay. All that means is that the meat hasn’t been exposed to oxygen.


Ingredients for the perfect steak

🍽. Grass-fed steak

🍽. Freshly cracked pepper

🍽. Sea salt

🍽. Grass-fed butter

🍽. Greens (arugula/kale/spinach/whatever you want!!)


How to cook peppered crust steak

1. Take the steaks out of the fridge and let them sit to reach room temp - about 30 minutes


2. Cover both sides - pepper more than salt but a hefty amount of salt too (see pics)


3. Melt butter in a pan over medium/low heat.

It’ll bubble.


4. When the butter starts to brown, get your steaks in there.

If they’re small enough or your pan is big enough to fit both go right ahead - don’t overcrowd the pan though ~


5. Let cook on one side for about 2-3 minutes DON’T TOUCH IT

(I love my steak rare to medium-rare so that’s what I’m guiding you through – I also think it’s the best way to eat a peppered steak but if just cook it for longer after you flip it if you want it more well done)

Use your eyes and vibe – after a few tries, you'll be able to tell without a timer but I’ve found that 3 minutes is tops so that it browns and not blacks.


6. After flipping.

Take a spoon and start basting aka pouring the liquid from the pan on top of the steak.

This will make sure the steak is being cooked through from the top still as well - do this for about 3-5 minutes depending on the thickness of the steak.

If you have a meat thermometer now is the time to use it - optimal temp for each type:

Rare : 120-130 F

Medium Rare : 130-135 F

Medium : 135-145 F

Medium Well : 145-155 F

Well 155+ F

Or feel your hand and feel the meat like so

Also don’t forget that it’ll continue cooking while you let it rest so it’s best to pull off a little bit before you feel like it’s ready.


7. Put the steak on a plate and let it rest about 8-15 minutes depending on the thickness of steak – in the meantime get your greens out and maybe and a slice of bread


Serving Steak

I like to slice my steak all at once to have strips that I can then cut when I’m eating so slice it if you want or serve it as is ~


I highly recommend pouring extra virgin olive oil on top and adding some flaky salt to enjoy your steak in the most natural and delicious way.


Let us know if you try this recipe below!


Until next time,


Stay present in the now and eat good steak if you’re going to~


Anything you want to talk about? Let me know

Thanks for the message! talk to you soon xo

© 2022 The Betterment Cusp - Yuliana Bourdin

bottom of page