top of page

Sober for 70 days


having a non alcoholic drink

So for my own betterment journey, I decided that after my 27th birthday I would do a 70 day sober journey. It’s been almost 3 weeks and I feel amazing. Okay so it’s not that I drank a lot before this. I do love a drink when it’s a moment but what I realised recently was that I hadn’t stopped drinking for a long period of time since I turned 21. A glass of wine here, a margarita there, the longest I’ve probably gone without drinking is a few days or when I've been sick. I take care of my body in general so I don’t think it’s completely detrimental to my health but at the same time it made me wonder what would happen if I stopped for a little over 2 months. Would there be any significant physical or physiological differences? We’re here to find out!


I’m calling it a journey and not a challenge because the word challenge stresses me out and I feel such pressure to accomplish it that it almost sets me up for failure. A journey implies that this is a time to explore and venture and grow. Now that we’re all about right?


Benefits of staying sober

☺︎ Collagen levels will slowly restore – we all want to look young right? Well taking care of your skin from the outside like we talked about in the moisturising post (linked here) is important but you’ll also see results by taking care of your insides


☺︎ Improved brain activity – with your body resting, communication between neurons will start to come back


☺︎ Save money – I mean I can’t be the only one who has had the fleeting thought of “I wonder how much I’ve spent on alcohol in my life” yikes


☺︎ Lose weight – alcohol (oftentimes)= calories so let’s cut it and see what happens (also I’d rather eat carbs and gain weight from that then alcohol)


☺︎ Improve heart health – let your muscle rest or work to benefit you like during a workout not to double down on pumping oxygen through you


☺︎ Regenerate liver – your liver is the star of the show when you drink: somehow it works so much to break down alcohol and keep you alive (even if the next day you may feel like you want to die)


☺︎ Time for new activities – there are so many things you can do without drinking. The Good Trade recently did a 99 sober activities for this weekend article which I’m linking here for you and it’s great because they’re really things you can do at any time


Why stay sober?

This journey is not only a good break for your body and chemistry, but it’s also great for your higher self mind. Since drinking does impair the mind, having a clear head for 60 days could result in some amazing ideas and thoughts. In tandem with the sober journey, add on a meditation journey and observe, feel and experience your mind shifting and bettering. Growth doesn’t happen overnight but in 2 months, you’re bound to see some progress.


Check-in with yourself

Also! It’s a great way to check in with yourself in regards to your relationships with others and yourself. Because not drinking for 70 days doesn't mean locking yourself away and not seeing anyone, chances are you’ll end up in situations where others are drinking.


Quick story: I went to a friend’s birthday party that had about 20 people, some of who I didn’t know and we did a murder mystery theme and before going ngl I was a bit nervous but I ended up having the best of time. A part of me even thinks I had a better time sober than I would’ve if I had been drinking. It made me feel so good about how far I’ve come in regards to my social behaviours. And even then, I walked away with the thought of how I can improve my communication skills in order to further better my relationship with my friends.


Non alcoholic drinks

You can always have a nonalcoholic drink! The world is changing y’all. With spirits and nonalcoholic beverages rising, soon you won’t just have to order a virgin something or another. There will be a full list of zero-proof drinks that you can order. Until then, we will manage with what we have right?


Hot tips when you’re out and want a nonalcoholic drink

Always ask if the restaurant/bar have any mocktails (oftentimes the bartenders can make you something delicious on the fly based on your preferred flavour profile)

Some go tos you can ask for when they don’t:

soda, lime and bitters // soda with a splash of cranberry juice and a lime // kombucha // coconut water // tea // coffee // 0% abv beer (Untitled Art Non Alcoholic is THE BEST)


If you’re going to someone’s house or hosting yourself, you can purchase some amazing zero-proof elixirs that will blow you and maybe even your guests away.


Some to try

ADD AFTER GOING TO AFUERA ON OCTOBER 3RD name/description/where to purchase(links?)


Have you had any delicious zero proof drinks? Will you be venturing on a 70 day sober journey? Let us know below!


Until next time,


Be present in the now and try a nonalcoholic elixir~


Anything you want to talk about? Let me know

Thanks for the message! talk to you soon xo

© 2022 The Betterment Cusp - Yuliana Bourdin

bottom of page