top of page

Cleanest Shower


zero waste shower

I love a zero-waste moment. I’ve gone back and forth about living a zero-waste lifestyle but the truth is I already put so much pressure on myself to do better by the planet, which sometimes ends up detrimental to my mental health so a zero-waste life isn’t for me. But I try to do my best and I feel like small little steps from everyone can help reduce the waste in the world.


Zero waste showers


So the shower is where I’m pretty zero-waste. I think the bathroom is a great place to start because so many of the things we keep there can be switched to products that will be zero waste. I love bar soap for example. I used to have bar soap to wash hands with but then the local home goods store near me (Asch Building for those who are in Houston) opened up their refill station so I invested in a nice glass soap dispenser and now refill it there. Look into local shops that focus on sustainability or just local home goods stores in general. You never know, there might be a soap refill station in your own backyard!


Bar soap


For the shower, I love a bar soap moment. I got this soap pouch and it’s super cute and aesthetic in my shower and sooo much better than a cute-for-a-day loofa, which grows bacteria and gets so nasty after a while. Also, washing your beautiful skin with plastic? No thank you. So this pouch is made of sisal, which is a stiff fiber from a Mexican flowering plant that becomes soft when you put it in water. Basically, you put your bar soap in there and you wash with the pouch. They’re super soft so it feels good on your skin and you get a really nice lather out of it. Then when you’re done, just rinse it, make sure all the suds are gone and then hand it to dry (don’t put it down as it needs airflow to dry and not mould). And they’re super inexpensive! I highly recommend you buy some on Etsy right here.


Shampoo time


I love a bar shampoo as well. A couple of years ago I bought 3 different brands (and one came with 4) and since they last forever I’m probably set with shampoo until 2030. Oof even typing that year was a bit scary. So because they last forever it’s such a good investment. It’s super easy to use too. My favourite ones are by Mini Meditation but they're currently unavailable on Amazon so I would recommend the J.R. Liggett's ones. They have super nice scents and they lather on really well. Just rub it in your hands and then rub it right on your head to get your hair nice and lathered. Then wash your hair as usual.


Bar conditioner


I recently got into bar conditioner. At first, I didn’t know how I would feel about them because I’m kind of particular about conditioner but I got this one and it has no brand so I can’t say which I have specifically but I did some research for y’all and you can buy from some amazing brands here, here and here. It’s amazing. You basically just run it through your hair, leave it on as you normally would with conditioner and then wash it out. Make sure to really wash out your conditioner by the way. I used to hate having to spend time on it so I definitely would end up with conditioner still in my hair and now I really see the difference when I wash it out fully. My hair has never looked better tbh.


These little tweaks are super easy to make and will make your bathroom life extra affordable.


Have you used any of these products? If so, any brands that are your favourite? Share with us below!


Until next time,


Be present in the now and check out zero waste alternatives for your bathroom goods~


Anything you want to talk about? Let me know

Thanks for the message! talk to you soon xo

© 2022 The Betterment Cusp - Yuliana Bourdin

bottom of page